Running the railcars

Wednesday again, my day off. I was going to take Harvey for a walk at the seaside to use up one of last year’s free passes. Walking in the rain is fine when you can get warm and dry as soon as you get indoors but not so much fun when you’ve got a couple of hours on the train before you can get changed, so we stayed at home instead.

I’ve had a lazy day, not in the mood for doing any serious modelling but I did paint railcar #27’s new trailer this morning. Since then I’ve had a good long operating session on the layout using four railcars.

#20 approaching Centrales as #21 is held at the signal on the low line.

On the high line #20 and #27 took turns about working through from Cuarto de Pulgada to Grande and back, calling at Rio Paleta and Centrales. #27 does not fit on the short railcar cassette (or the turntables at Grande and Cuarto) with the coach attached so this train gave me some practice using the full length cassette between Centrales and Grande. #21 and #22 alternated on the low line running through from Grande to San Fernandez and back, calling at Centrales, Resurreccion and Frog Rock.

Railcars #27, with the new trailer, and #22 at Grande.

It’s a much more relaxed pace using the layout in this fashion. A lot of people would rather watch the steam trains but, to me, a railcar is just as much a train as is loco and stock, also (again in my opinion) they convey the Latin American railway atmosphere more than a conventional train does.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, she got the kids, I got the dog.
This entry was posted in FCPyF 2016 rebuild, My trains, Narrow gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.