Bigger than expected

My idea for the goods shed at Grande was for a fairly modest structure between the outer narrow gauge siding and the baseboard edge. However, in Sierra Oculta things seldom turn out quite as planned.

While I was cutting the template for the end walls I made it big enough for there to be a canopy over the narrow gauge siding and the transfer platform between there and the broad gauge siding.

This increased width meant that the apex of the pitched roof was quite a lot higher, leading to a considerably larger building than I had initially envisaged.

Not to worry, freight operations are more important than passenger and the impressive size of the goods shed really does dominate the station and yard. The building is awaiting cladding in wriggly tin, to match the loco and carriage sheds, but I’m clean out of corrugated card at the moment.

When I built Cotton Lane (pictured above) some twenty odd years ago I made the goods shed the largest structure on the layout. But that was in OO scale, when you start talking about big in O scale it really does mean big.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Bodging and Kitbashing, FCPyF 2016 rebuild, My trains, Narrow gauge, Standard gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.