An old flame rekindled

A long, long, long time ago I saw a Tri-ang model (OK, toy) Budd RDC in a shop window. At the time I thought it was an odd looking train, but I’ve always liked the unusual. That was my first flirtation with overseas modelling and, at the time, as far as it went apart from spending hours on end looking at the Transcontinental range in Tri-ang catalogues.

Since then I’ve modelled standard and narrow gauges, in various scales, following British, German, Japanese and American prototypes, sometimes mixing two or more in freelance situations. I am now firmly committed to O scale narrow gauge with the FCPyF being a fairly large static home layout that will probably be my last big modelling project. There’s certainly a few years worth of development in the layout yet.

So what’s this got to do with the Budd? Well, I was looking for something else and some images of RDCs were included in the search result…

And that got me thinking…

Yes, I know that’s not an old Tri-ang Transcontinental railcar, it’s a LifeLike Proto 1000 Series model in Canadian National Railway livery and no, there’s not a chance that I would contemplate converting the layout from On30 to HO…

But there are a few locations where the scale is not apparent.

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in My trains, Narrow gauge, Retro modelling, Standard gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.