A branch too far?

I’ve been working on the scenery near Cumbre this morning. It still needs at least one, maybe two, layers of paint-shell applying before the rock texturing can be added but I have been experimenting with ash from a coal and log fire, blown onto the wet paint. The result is quite pleasing, though the final coat of paint will need to be whiter than that I’m using to stick the tissue paper onto the mountainside.

san-pedro-branch

Why “a branch too far”?

I was playing with the idea of adding the San Pedro branch from Cumbre to a hidden staging track behind Rio Paleta. Two things have put me off the idea though, firstly the set of points I have in stock are left handed where a right hand point would give better track geometry. The second dissuading factor is the gradient change, I’m pretty sure that it would be impossible to get a train onto the branch without the Kadees becoming uncoupled. With these two factors to cope with I have taken the easy way out.

The FCPyF is set in the early 1960’s, all it needed was to ensure that the San Pedro branch had closed by then! The story of the railway’s history (shown on the layout’s new webpage) tells how a new highway connecting San Pedro to Centrales was built in 1953, taking most of the freight traffic from the branch, and a landslip four years later was the final nail in the coffin.

stop board

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Bodging and Kitbashing, FCPyF 2016 rebuild, FCPyF route map, My trains, Narrow gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.