Halt

Lead me not unto temptation, follow me, I know a short cut.

Hum. After a long day out at this year’s Expo NG in Swanley I said I’d happily go again, but not with a layout. Well, I might go back on that statement.

The 2017 Challenge has been announced, very simply it’s to build a halt. No points, loops or sidings, just a single track with a halt of some description. Ideal for another bottle layout. I’d be tempted to use On30 rather than On18 and have detachable fiddlesticks making it possible to operate the layout with the FCPyF’s railcars.

halt

I’ve been searching for inspiration on the web and found this photo of Eskdale Green before the Ravenglass and Eskdale was converted to 15 inch gauge. The overbridge provides an obvious scenic break at one end while a large tree could hide the hole in the sky at the other.

Looking for images of the halt from different angles I found this wonderful picture of Miteside, also on the R&E.

halt-2

The shelter, made from an old rowing boat, is just crying out to be modelled. Miteside still has a boat (Wikipedia link) for its shelter but it is now stood on end. I much prefer the original.

stop board

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, she got the kids, I got the dog.
This entry was posted in 2016 Dave Brewer Challenge, 2017 Dave Brewer Challenge, Bodging and Kitbashing, My trains, Narrow gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.