Manchester Show

It has been a while since I’ve visited a show but the Manchester Model Railway Society’s 2015 event in the city centre this weekend was easily accessible by public transport.

I specifically wanted to see “Herstmonceux” by Andy Jones, as the number of photos probably tells, but there were a lot of other good layouts there too including Andy Cooper’s New Hey, on its last outing before going to a new owner, and Martin Stringer’s “Tollesbury Quay”. This last layout actually has a working tidal inlet. The tide was out when I got there but the water had risen noticeably by the time I went home about three hours later.

Rather than fill the website’s media library with photos I have uploaded them via YouTube, just click on an image if you want to look at it in detail then click again to resume the slideshow.

As always at exhibitions it provided a chance to talk with a few old friends, in addition to meeting a couple of modellers that I’d only previously known via the internet.

All in all a most enjoyable Saturday afternoon in Manchester.

stop board

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, she got the kids, I got the dog.
This entry was posted in Other people's trains, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.