Weather

There has been lots of weather in Sierra Oculta this morning, some of it now covering my finger tips but the rest of it where it’s meant to be.

11 11 2

The tender is not an exact match to the weathering on #2. This is because it has only recently been allocated to this loco, having previously been attached to #19 but rendered spare when that loco was rebuilt as a tank engine.

11 11 57

11 11 2811 11 31

11 11 60

I’m not completely happy with the ‘vinyls’ that the FCPyF is currently using to number its locos but they’ll have to do for now because I cannot source any of the silhouette numbers that I’ve used in the past, as shown on #2’s cab side in the first photo. I need an excuse to go to Dagfields so I can call in at the artists’ supplies shop there to restock. Anyway the numbers applied at present will have to do as stop-gaps.

As well as the locos, I’ve also done a bit of work on some freight cars.

11 11 hop

The big hopper (designed for three foot gauge instead of two foot six) has been a very long term project, originally started about six or seven years ago! It has only recently been fitted with the running gear from an HO scale freight car and this morning the paintwork was touched up to complete the job.  I am particularly pleased with the weathering on this car though. The boxcar in the same photo was an early conversion to On30, it has just been refurbished with new corrugated ends because the old ones were getting a bit battered. At the same time I widened the body slightly to make it a better match with the other On30 stock.

11 11 tip

The tipper seen in the goods loop at Puerto was originally intended as a Gn15 wagon but has been transferred to the FCPyF and also given some weathering treatment while I had the paints mixed. The CoFC behind it is a converted Tri-ang track cleaning wagon, hence the felt pad beneath it.

stop board

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, she got the kids, I got the dog.
This entry was posted in My trains, Narrow gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.