It’s a grind

The angle grinder is an awesome piece of kit. It made short work of removing the remnants of the saddle tank from the front of the Pacific’s cab.

100_0550

While I had the tool assembled and plugged in I also removed the builder’s plates from the cab sides so that new, deeper, lower panels can be added to the level surface. The boiler is definitely something off a loco built for export but I want to keep a British look about the loco, to distinguish it from the Americans in the FCPyF’s fleet, so the cab sides will curve down to match the depth of the tender’s bodywork.

100_0549b

I don’t want to mount the cab too high over the firebox, so it looks as if I’ll have to trim the footplate on the tender to make it slightly lower down…

100_0548

…otherwise the fireman’s going to have a sore head!

And, on the matter of the tender, I am still undecided whether or not it needs widening. It’s a good match for the smaller freight stock, and the loco is supposed to be British built.

100_0551

Seen here with a Peco “Great Little Trains” O-16.5 van attached, though it does look too narrow when coupled to Bachmann freight cars and passenger stock.

But is that a problem?

The tender in this video is narrower than the coach behind it, I reckon adding a thin ledge along the top of the frame should do the job.

stop

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Bodging and Kitbashing, My trains, Narrow gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.