How many years ago?

I’m listening to The Beatles as I type this blog entry….

“It was twenty years ago today, Sgt. Pepper taught the band to play
They’ve been going in and out of style, but they’re guaranteed to raise a smile”

Hold that thought, a couple of months ago it was twenty years since I moved to Sandbach. Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band was well over twenty years old then, having being released in 1967, when I was only ten.

Time seems to shrink as we get older. Some events, even from the distant past, seem as if they were just last week. Some of them seem as if they were even more recent than that!

“This was many years ago today, a Climax loco (not a Shay).
It’s been pulling trains for quite a while, through the Andes mile after mile.”

Years? Or maybe it’s just minutes?

Meanwhile, The Beatles are still on my CD player.

stop

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in My trains, Narrow gauge. Bookmark the permalink.