Going underground

Some people might say my life is in a rut
But I’m quite happy with what I’ve got…

Good lyrics from The Jam, but nothing to do with this blog entry!

My original intention was to use the Unit Models battery trammer (inset A) as the mine locomotive on Jones River. However, the driver sits high on it as the kit is designed* so there’s little or no real saving in headroom between this and the Shapeways steeple-cab loco (inset B and main picture), hence the tall adit.

100_9912a

Of course there’s nothing to stop me using both, though not at the same time, but I do prefer the steeple-cab. Also, though wired, the mine track remains untested because I’m still waiting for the plaster to set fully before attempting to run trains on it.

100_9919 640

Update, the mine track has been converted for horizontal puppet string (fishing line) power using the Unit Models battery trammer on an N gauge wagon chassis. This not only does away with the need for track cleaning but is also virtually 100% reliable and saves the need for adding extra electrical controls to the layout.

stop

* The Unit Models O9 Trammer could be altered, allowing the driver to sit with his feet within the frames, if you use a Kato 11-103 mechanism and trim it as close to the axle as possible. As supplied the kit is designed to fit a Bachmann chassis. I altered mine to use the Kato 11-103 but did not perform surgery on the chassis, therefore necessitating the higher seating position.
About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, three kids, one dog.
This entry was posted in Bodging and Kitbashing, My trains, Narrow gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.