End of the line

I have been a railway enthusiast for as long as I can remember. I grew up in a house which shared its boundary fence with the Glossop branch and I’ve also had toy trains (followed by model railways) since I was a small boy.

godley 1During my life I’ve seen many different classes of loco, the Woodhead electrics (as seen above at Godley Junction) naturally featuring prominently because of my upbringing, but one of my favourites is the humble 350hp shunter. These locos seemed to be everywhere when I started working for the railway in the 1970s, and they were old then, but it would seem that their long careers are finally coming to a close.

shunt
To be honest I don’t think anybody could get enthusiastic about their replacements (above left), no matter how economical and environmentally kind they may be.

stop

About Bob Hughes

Ex railwayman, life long railway modeller, lover of real ale and spicy food. Divorced, she got the kids, I got the dog.
This entry was posted in Standard gauge, Toy train chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.